DUI/DWAI ATTORNEYS IN BOULDER, CO
No one starts off with the intention to drive drunk or otherwise intoxicated — but sometimes the night gets away from you. You may be so adamant about getting home that you get behind the wheel without the ability to drive safely to your destination. Holidays and weekends are often accompanied by the enjoyment of alcohol, but these occasions can be ruined by a DUI or DWAI.
What is the difference between a DUI and DWAI?
DUI is an acronym for “Driving Under the Influence” of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. DWAI is the acronym for “Driving While Ability Impaired” - which has a lower blood alcohol level benchmark for arrests.
The nationwide limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08%. However, in the state of Colorado, you can be considered “impaired” by alcohol if your BAC is lower than .08%. You can be arrested for a DWAI if you BAC in between .05% and .08%.
A DWAI is a misdemeanor charge, which means it is technically less serious than a DUI but it will still be added to your criminal record if convicted.
What happens after a DUI or DWAI charge?
A drunk driving (DUI or DWAI) charge can negatively impact your life in many ways and can follow you for years. Penalties for drunk driving have stiffened substantially in Colorado — a DUI or DWAI may cost you your driver’s license, result in jail time, community service, alcohol programs, and fines. That’s why our firm focuses on your individual needs and the specific circumstances of your case, using all the knowledge and resources at our disposal to help you achieve most favorable results.
If you are charged with a DUI or DWAI in Colorado, you may be facing two legal actions pending against you.
Court Criminal Charge
Your driver's license is directly challenged in a DMV hearing. Before this hearing, you should have received a Notice of Revocation form that states you were given a temporary license allowing you to drive 7 days after your license was taken. During that 7 days, you must request a DMV hearing on the revocation of your license. Due to the tedious paperwork and somewhat confusing procedures of DMV hearings, you’ll need to hire a DUI attorney to have the best chance at reobtaining your license.
If you have been charged with a DUI or DWAI, you could be facing allegations that you committed a crime. This is referred to as a court criminal charge, and it is important to our experienced DUI attorneys as soon as possible after your arrest. During a court proceeding, your lawyer will be able to take care of the first court appearance on your behalf and identify the issues that will make a difference in the final outcome.
If you are facing a DUI or DWAI charge, contact our office and set up a time to meet with us to discuss your case and set goals to defend your right to drive. Call us today.
DUI & DWAI DEFENSE ATTORNEYS IN BOULDER, COLORADO.
If you have been charged with drunk driving, driving under the influence of drugs, or any other DUI/DWAI related charge, we are prepared to defend you and your right to drive. With our 50 plus years of combined experience on your side, you can be confident in your defense and your chance at a positive outcome. Call us today.